notnicolajames

Mixtape #1: Where love lies waiting – best songs about home

Have you ever been sitting on the train feeling lonely? Too many strangers? Do you just want to head home? Love the life-on-the-road self-pity by singer-songwriters? Need a gift for friend who travels a lot?

Here’s the ultimate playlist for you. After writing a post about why singer-songwriters dream about home, I compiled a list of the very best songs. Feel free to send me more, and I’ll copy them from the comment section to this list. Joni Mitchell’s “California” is my favorite one.

Joni Mitchell: California

…California I’m coming home

Carole King: Home again

Sometimes I wonder if I’m ever gonna make it home again. It’s so far and out of sight

James Taylor: Carolina

…Yes I’m going to Carolina in my mind

Gillian Welch: One more dollar

…When I reach those hills, boys. I’ll never roam. One more dollar and I’m going home

Simon & Garfunkel: Homeward bound

….Home, where my love lies waiting silently for me

Ben Harper: Give a man a Home

…Won’t you give a man? Give a man a home

Ray LaMontagne: For the summer

…I am tired. Can I come home for the summer?

Watch the full playlist on my channel on youtube

Need more inspiration?

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Mixtape #1: Where love lies waiting – best songs about home

  1. Pingback: Kiss a sunset pig – why singer-songwriters dream about home « notnicolajames

  2. Hi Nicola,

    I definitely think Tina Dico’s “Sacre Coeur” is missing here

    o/

  3. I love Long Way Home by Tom Waits. Every time I am in an airport I hum it..

  4. Pingback: Singer-songwriters, fight to keep your soul! « notnicolajames

  5. My favorite song about home is by Ryan Kelly. His song “The Village They Call The Moy” makes me wish I was from The Moy.

  6. Pingback: Michael Kiwanuka: He’s getting ready « notnicolajames

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

