notnicolajames

Mixtape #2: Best songs about winter and snow

Cold and chilly outside? Heading home for Christmas? If you need a mixed tape for December, here are the best songs about winter and snow that deviate from the usual Christmas crap on the radio. Also check out Mixtape #9: More songs about winter, snow, and Christmas.

There’s something about winter songs. Winter completes the year. Just before New Years Eve we all think about all the stuff we didn’t get done. While this is rather stressful, did you ever recognize how calming and relaxing snow is? The special smell when you know the first snow flakes will fall? When that happens, you want the perfect tune in your ear…(and I want Science Boy at my side).

My absolute favorite is White Winter Hymnal by the Fleet Foxes. I’ve been playing this song in a loop, it’s so good. Listen for the part “Michael you will fall. And turn the white snow red as strawberries in the summer time” – a beautiful climax.

Fleet Foxes: White winter hymnal

…turn the white snow red as strawberries in the summertime

Ane Brun‘s The Changing of the Seasons “includes” the other seasons as well, but the part about winter is most touching: “The relief of spring. Intoxication of summer rain. The clearness of fall. How winter makes me reconsider it all.”

Ane Brun: Changing of the seasons

How winter makes me reconsider it all

The full playlist

Here are 14 additional, handpicked songs about snow and winter by singer-songwriters: from hilarious ones to those about warm winter love – and one on the verge of corny. I also combined them into a youtube playlist.

Laura Veirs: Snow Camping

I saw the violet turn to night. I saw the water turn to ice. A thousand snowflakes hovered ‘round me. The world aglow

Tori Amos: Winter

I get a little warm in my heart. When I think of winter. I put my hand in my father’s glove.

The funny one – My ears are cold

Jesse Winchester: Snow

Now you know what they say about snow flakes. How there ain’t no two the same. Well, all them flakes look alike to me… My ears are cold

Five songs about cold snow and warm love

Eva Cassidy:
I know you by heart

Midnights in Winter. The glowing fire. Lights up your face in orange and gold.

Ed Sheeran: Lego house

And it’s dark in a cold December, but I’ve got you to keep me warm. And if you’re broken I’ll mend you and keep you sheltered from the storm that’s raging on now

Jonny Lang: Irish Angel

I wrote her back and then. There was no second letter. Just the silence of the snow. That fell around me.

Lori Carson: Snow come down

Wouldn’t you like to be with me. Watching the snow come down

Joni Mitchell: Urge for going

I awoke today and found the frost perched on the town. It hovered in a frozen sky, then it gobbled summer down

Fancy winter much? Neeeaaaahhh

Simon and Garfunkel: A Hazy Shade Of Winter

I look around, leaves are brown now
And the sky is a hazy shade of winter

Alela Diane: White as diamonds

I’ve known mornings. white as diamonds. Silent from a night so cold… Our lives are buried in snow

Nick Cave: 15 Feet of pure white snow

Is anybody out there please? It’s too quiet in here and I’m beginning to freeze. I’ve got icicles hanging from my knees. Under 15 feet of pure white snow

Do you spare a thought for Jesus in the winter?

Lindisfarne: Winter song

When Winter’s shadowy fingers first pursue you down the street. And your boots no longer lie about the cold around your feet…

On the verge of corny

Sarah McLachlan: Song for a winter’s night

The snow is softly fallin’. The air is still within the silence of my room. I hear your voice softly calling

The cheeky one – not just about winter but lovely

Ray LaMontagne: Winter birds

The days grow short. As the nights grow long. The leaves will fall to feed the ground. And in their falling, make no sound

Listen to the complete playlist on my youtube channel.

(Ilustration in the middle of the post by my artist friend Kripa Joshi.)

Need inspiration?

  • http://living4pleasurealone.blogspot.com/2009/02/best-snow-songs-ever.html
  • http://music.yahoo.com/blogs/list-of-the-day/five-great-snow-songs.html
  • http://www.yelp.com/topic/san-francisco-songs-about-snow-or-winter
  • http://www.independent.co.uk/arts-entertainment/music/features/we-wish-you-an-alternative-christmas-beyond-the-world-of-the-cheesy-festive-album-6263207.html
  • A hilarious attempt at covering the Fleet Foxes Song
  • http://earfarm.com/features/daily-feature/friday/1895
  • Guardian: Yule’s gold: how to make the perfect Christmas compilation
  • Single Post Navigation

    9 thoughts on “Mixtape #2: Best songs about winter and snow

    1. Great List! A couple of my favorite songs are on there as well (Fleet Foxes & Ray LaMontagne). Thanks for helping me out with some more inspiration and other winter songs besides the old and stale stuff on the radio!

    2. Pingback: My 12 Days of Christmas Music (Day 9) | Life on the Rivera

    3. Cool blog you have here! I saw your link on Jonny Lang’s Face Book page so I thought I would come over and say hi! Happy holidays to you!

    4. Pingback: Mixtape #9: More songs about winter, snow, and Christmas « notnicolajames

    5. saarthak on said:

      Spot on with this write-up, I seriously believe this site needs a great deal more attention. I’ll probably be back again to read more, thanks for the information!

    6. Thanks for your great suggestions – some I was familiar with but some are new to me and just terrific!

    7. Its such as you read my mind! You seem to know a lot about this, such as you wrote the e book in it or something. I believe that you just can do with some percent to pressure the message house a little bit, however other than that, that is great blog. An excellent read. I will certainly be back.

    Leave a Reply

        Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 39 other followers

