notnicolajames

Will I see your face again, Ben Harper?

I was so excited to see Ben Harper live at Central Park in New York, but he was rather introvert and distant. He just didn’t feel like interacting with me (and the rest of the audience).

Just before I left New York I heard Ben Harper plays at Central Park. Obviously first thing I did was booking two tickets for me and Science Boy. I’d been listening to Ben Harper for a long time since my friend in Berlin, Vivian Peruth, said something like he’s her darling or so (I have to ask her what it was).

Vivian is now a successful concert agent and band manager, and I’m a fan of Ben Harper.

I’ve been covering his song “Forever” for a while, it’s a bit melancholic. I sang it for a while when I had a long-distance relationship with Science Boy, and then again more (at home) in the weeks before my own wedding in 2011.

Not talkin’ ’bout a year. No not three or four. I don’t want that kind of forever. In my life anymore. Forever always seems to be around when it begins. But forever never seems to be around when it ends. So give me your forever. Please your forever. Not a day less will do From you

Obviously Ben Harper has some up-beat songs as well, for example, “Please Don’t Talk About Murder While I’m Eating” – really rocks!

The concert was entertaining, especially the support act, Damien Marley, who brought his flag-waving crazy friend with him (see pic below). Ben Harper was a bit too introvert and distant for my taste. I had been looking forward to hearing my favorite songs, to see how he speaks, get goose bumps and the like. But he just didn’t feel like interacting with me (and the rest of the audience).

At times I felt he’s playing just for himself and doesn’t care that there are people watching. So I guess I can give it another try if he tours the UK, but the first impression live was not the very best.

Here are pics (2006):

This was Damien Marley, the pre-act, who had this crazy flag-guy who danced on stage through the whole set:

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Will I see your face again, Ben Harper?

  1. Pingback: Ane Brun: Songwriting is “magical” « notnicolajames

  2. Pingback: Michael Kiwanuka: He’s getting ready « notnicolajames

Leave a Reply

