notnicolajames

Excellent Christmas Gifts


Santa Claus brought me wonderful Christmas gifts that I can recommend for anyone with an interest in singer-songwriters. Best one is a T-Shirt telling people how not to call me Nicola James, also great a book on songwriting by Jeffrey Pepper Rodgers. He writes: “We fall in love with songs; we break up and wonder how we ever could have gotten into that affair. We take everything personally.” Like!

Absolutely unexpected was Science Boy‘s idea to have a T-shirt printed for me. It says NOT NICOLA JAMES and gives my blog URL. He really is a very good husband I must admit! I wonder if I should start wearing it at concerts, e.g. the Fiver in Cambridge that I sometimes write reviews about.

We fall in love with songs

Another great gift is the book “The Complete Singer-Songwriter. A Troubadour’s Guide to Writing, Performing, Recording & Business” by Jeffrey Pepper Rodgers. Rodgers writes: “We fall in love with songs; we break up and wonder how we ever could have gotten into that affair. We take everything personally.” (p. 4). The book contains lots of long quotes by Ben Harper, Joni Mitchell, James Taylor and other singer-songwriters on topics such as lyrics, performing, recording and collaborating. I will write a review as soon as I’ve finished reading.

Songbird

I’m really pleased that I now also own a songbook for guitar “Songbird” with arrangements by Eva Cassidy. I have the exact same book already but I accidentally grabbed the one for piano. The new goal for 2012 is to learn one of her songs by looking at the music notation Tim Christmas has been teaching me (instead of tabulature).

It all starts with one

Ane Brun’s new album “It all starts with one” is another gift I got. It’s the deluxe version with two CDs, and I’m planning to review it in January. I listened to it a little bit already and it’s a bit of a change compared to her last albums, rather artistic/avantgarde and less “singer with guitar”. It has lots of tribal drumming and the first song “These Days” seems to be about depression. I can’t wait to take some time and listen more closely to the 18 songs to write a review. Science Boy and I already have tickets to her London show.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

