notnicolajames

Mixtape #9: More songs about winter, snow, and Christmas

snow-headAfter my Mixtape #2: Best songs about winter and snow, I collected some more indie and singer-songwriter songs for winter and Christmas. They are also on a youtube playlist.

Eels – Everything’s Going To Be Cool This Christmas

as the days go by, the more that we need friends
and the harder they are to find
if I could have a friend like you in my life
then I guess I’d be doing just fine
and everything’s gonna be cool this christmas

Zee Avi – No Christmas for Me

No, there won’t be Christmas for me this year
For the simple reason being you’re not here

The Raveonettes – The Christmas Song

All the lights are coming on now
How i wish that it would snow now
I dont fell like going home now
I wish that i could stay
Santas coming to town
with sequins in his hair

Joni Mitchell – River

It’s coming on Christmas
They’re cutting down trees
They’re putting up reindeer
And singing songs of joy and peace
I wish I had a river I could skate away on

Sufjan Stevens – Sister Winter

But my heart is
Returned to sister winter
But my heart is
As cold as ice

The Flaming Lips – Christmas at the Zoo

Their wasn’t any snow on Christmas Eve
And I knew what I should do
I thought I’d free the animals
All locked up at the zoo

Aimee Mann – Calling On Mary

I heard the sidewalk Santa say:
Merry Christmas, Merry Christmas
Salvation’s coming cheap today
Merry Christmas, Merry Christmas

Roten Rosen – Merry Xmas Everybody

Are you hanging up a stocking on your wall?
Is the time that every Santa has a ball
Does he ride red-nosed reindeer
Does he turn upon his sleigh
Do the fairies keep his soul but for a day

Sufjan Stevens – That Was The Worst Christmas Ever!

Going outside, shoveling snow in the driveway, driveway
Taking our shoes, riding a sled down the hillside, hillside
Can you say what you want? Can you say what you want to be?

The creepy one: Mariah Carey & Justin Bieber

Not sure if it’s just creepy or outright paedophile, but here’s my pet-hate Christmas video:

Links

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Mixtape #9: More songs about winter, snow, and Christmas

  1. Pingback: Mixtape #2: Best songs about winter and snow « notnicolajames

  2. Ok, not quite as winter-weather focused as the previous list, to my taste 😉 But I appreciate the links. And the fact that in this one, and the previous one, you give us a brief key quotes to get a sense of what the song’s perspective on winter is.

Leave a comment